mainstream record fifty-six

Artist: Wino and Conny Ochs

Title: Heavy Kingdom

Release Date: 27 January 2012

SKU: eom56 Categories: , Tags: , ,



1. Somewhere Nowhere
2. Heavy Kingdom
3. Dust
4. Vultures By The Vines
5. Dark Ravine
6. Traces Of Blood
7. Heavy Kingdom Jam
8. Highway Kind
9. Dead Yesterday
10. Here Comes The Siren
11. Labour Of Love

The Legacy of Scott “Wino” Weinrich in the world of heavy music is indisputable. Many have postulated his influence in the underground rock scene over the last decades. Now Wino teams up with fellow Conny Ochs, a songwriter so pure and honest in his output that he seems to be the perfect partner. Both met for the first time in 2010 when Conny was supporting Wino on his acoustic solo tour promoting ‘Adrift‘. From the beginning there seemed to be an extraordinnairy vibe rotating between the two individuals. Through music they discovered a very similar approach to life and art and a shared wisdom in creating music. It really seemed like two souls becoming one after they had learned to know each other. By the end of the tour they shared the stage every night and Conny would lay down his skills on Wino tracks.

After both recorded an infamous ‘Latitudes’ session in London by the end of the 2010 tour it was now time for a full album. And here you have it: 11 soulful tunes that speak for themselves, personalities shine, truth within. All songs got written and performed by Wino and Conny together. The album contains one cover by Townes Van Zandt – an artist Conny an Wino deeply admire. Four of the songs the both wrote on one day in Berlin in Summer 2011, among them “Heavy Kingdom” which marks the first song they ever wrote together.  Rise was given to the other songs and the whole record with a first recording session in August 2011. The tracks were later twisted into shape in a second recording session at the seminal Kabumm Studios in Berlin. The artwork contains drawings by both artists and follows the dedicated and deeply intense approach of the whole album. Enjoy!

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A

CD, Vinyl

You may also like…